California is strict about its wage and hour laws. The laws are clear and require employers to pay accordingly. State wage and hour laws include laws about the minimum wage, overtime, meal breaks and more.If an employer violates any part of the law, an employee may have a right to pursue compensation from them. Here's more information about wage and hour laws that may be of help to you.
1. California pays a standard minimum wage
As of January 2019, the minimum wage in California is $12 per hour. It's important to note that local requirements may set a higher minimum wage, but no one can pay less than this except for in exempt positions (such as for a waitress or waiter).
2. Overtime is a requirement
If you work in excess of eight hours in a single day or over 40 hours in a week, then you are considered to have worked overtime. When you do that, you should expect pay at one and one-half times your normal hourly rate. If you work 12 hours or longer in a single day, then you should be paid double your normal hourly rate based on California's current requirements.
3. You are required to be given a meal break after five hours
After five hours of working consecutively on the job (in most jobs), you must be given an unpaid 30-minute meal break. You must also receive a paid 10-minute break when you work four hours.Employers need to follow these and other laws regarding your wages and hours. If your employer fails to do so, you may have a case against them.